The 2020 Major League Baseball season will be the first since 1968 with all 30 teams to play on Opening Day

New York (AFP) - Major League Baseball released the 2020 regular-season schedule on Monday with a March 26 start date that’s the earliest ever apart from games played overseas.

Barring weather delays, it will be the first season since 1968 that all 30 teams play on Opening Day.

Two years ago an all-hands Opening Day was planned but two games were postponed.

The first game at Globe Life Field, the new home of the Texas Rangers, will take place on Tuesday, March 31 against the Los Angeles Angels.

The Miami Marlins and the New York Mets will play a three-game series at Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, Puerto Rico, April 28-30.

“It is an honor for the Marlins to represent Major League Baseball in this special series against the Mets,” Marlins chief executive Derek Jeter said in a statement.

“Miami serves as the gateway to the Caribbean and Latin America, and we are grateful for the chance to showcase the new Miami Marlins organization to our neighbors in Puerto Rico.”

On June 13-14 the St. Louis Cardinals and Chicago Cubs will play at London Stadium in the second London Series.

The All-Star Game is on Tuesday, July 14 at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.